Discipline: Literature – fiction

Asako Serizawa

Discipline: Literature – fiction
Region: Brookline, MA
MacDowell fellowships: 2021

Asako Serizawa is the author of Inheritors, which won the 2021 PEN/Open Book Award and the 2021 Story Prize Spotlight Award. It was also a Massachusetts Book Award Honors Book for Fiction and longlisted for the 2021 PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize. Her work has received two O. Henry Prizes, a Pushcart Prize, a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award, and a fiction fellowship from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown. While at MacDowell in 2021, she worked on a novel, the second book in a planned quartet revolving around the legacies of Japanese imperialism and the Second World War. Inheritors was the first book in the quartet.

Portrait by Matthew Modica


Garland (formerly Baetz)

Asako Serizawa worked in the Garland (formerly Baetz) studio.

Marian MacDowell and friends named this studio in memory of Anna Baetz, the nurse who helped care for Edward MacDowell in the waning years of his life. With generous support from the Garland family, the studio was renovated in 2013 and renamed the Peter and Mary Garland Studio. The inward opening diamond-pane windows were replaced in…

Learn more