Discipline: Literature – fiction

Hillary Jordan

Discipline: Literature – fiction
Region: Brooklyn, NY
MacDowell fellowships: 2010, 2014, 2017

Hillary Jordan is the author of the novels Mudbound (2008) and When She Woke (2011) as well as the digital short “Aftermirth” (2013), all published by Algonquin books of Chapel Hill.

Mudbound won the 2006 Bellwether Prize for socially conscious fiction and a 2009 Alex Award from the American Library Association. It was named one of the Top Ten Debut Novels of the Decade by PASTE magazine. Both Mudbound and When She Woke, the first draft of which was finished at MacDowell, were long-listed for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. The two novels have been translated into 15 languages, and Mudbound was made into a film that premiered at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival and garnered four Oscar nominations.

Hillary finished a draft of her third novel, a sequel to Mudbound called Fatherlands, while in residence in 2017.



Hillary Jordan worked in the Star studio.

Learn more