The MacDowell Colony National Benefit 2019:
Made At MacDowell

May 6, 2019

On Monday, May 6th MacDowell artists, supporters, board, and friends gathered at Gotham Hall in New York City to celebrate the power, diversity, and influence of art. We showcased a selection of works Made At MacDowell over the course of the evening where we raised more than half a million dollars for our residency program. All proceeds from the National Benefit support Fellowships for residencies for the more than 300 artists who come to MacDowell each year from all corners of the globe.

Made at MacDowell logo

Video Excerpts of the Gala

The evening’s Honorary Chairs were Barry Diller and Diane Von Furstenberg, Ava DuVernay, Baz Luhrmann, Anna Deavere Smith, and Sir Patrick Stewart.

Each piece presented was created at, inspired by, or finished at MacDowell during an artist’s residency. Emcee Susan Blackwell* welcomed the crowd and introduced a musical tribute to James Baldwin* by Meshell Ndegeocello. Jiehae Park* introduced an excerpt of her play Peerless performed by Sasha Diamond, Tiffany Villarin, and Adina Verson, and Rodney Evans* shared a section of his film, Vision Portraits. After dinner, Tommy Orange* read from his Pulitzer Prize-winning novel There There with actress Kyla Garcia. The crowd heard speeches from MacDowell Colony Executive Director Cheryl Young, Board President Andrew Senchak, and Incoming Executive Director Philip Himberg. The evening ended with a fabulous paddle raise and a performance by Grace McLean* from her new musical In The Green.

Other program participants in the evening’s festivities included Chris Bruce, Rachel Duddy, Ashley Perez Flanagan, Justin Hicks, Hiroyuki Matsuura, Ada Westfall, and Hannah Whitney.

(*MacDowell Colony Fellow)

Click here for a full video of the evening's program.

For information about sponsoring our 2020 benefit to be held Monday, October 19th at Ziegfeld Ballroom please contact Brett Evan Solomon or call 212.535.9690.

Additional Photographs of The 2019 National Benefit can be found here and here.

Dinner Chairs

Christine and Todd Fisher
Anne Stark Locher and Kurt Locher
Robert and Stephanie Olmsted
Thomas and Babs Putnam
Andrew and Barbara Senchak
Amy Davidson Sorkin and David Sorkin
Peter Wirth

Benefit Patrons

Bill and Bunny Beekman
Bloomberg Philanthropies
Eleanor Briggs
Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman
Elizabeth and Russell Gaudreau
John Hargraves and Nancy Newcomb
Darrell and Robin Harvey
Charles F. Stone III and Theresa Stone
Szilvia Szmuk-Tanenbaum
Helen S. Tucker

Business Sponsors

First Republic Logo Penguin Random House logo Harper Collins Publishers logo Michael Rosenfeld Gallery logo

Other National Benefits