The MacDowell Virtual National Benefit 2020: Invest In Artists

October 19, 2020

On Monday, October 19, at 7:50 p.m. MacDowell artists, supporters, board, and friends will gather virtually, led by MacDowell Chair and evening host Nell Painter, to celebrate our program and the presentation of the first annual Marian MacDowell Arts Advocacy Award to ARRAY. ARRAY founder Ava DuVernay will accept the award from Ford Foundation President Darren Walker and from former MacDowell Board member and former Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts Jane Alexander.

This year's theme is Invest In Artists – their work and their vision for the future. Our fundraising goal is to secure MacDowell's financial future and expand our financial aid program to provide artists with equal access to our space and resources.

The Marian MacDowell Arts Advocacy award, underwritten by Agnes Gund, aims to honor advocates who uniquely and profoundly support and amplify the work of art and artists – just as Marian did when she established MacDowell, and as others continue to do now. We are thrilled to honor ARRAY, which has for 10 years been dedicated to amplifying the voices of people of color and women filmmakers globally. Over the course of the free and open-to-the-public benefit, we will feature exclusive performances by MacDowell Fellows, a robust silent auction, and more!

Donors can contribute to MacDowell to gain access to intimate virtual cocktails with MacDowell Fellows prior to the main program. Click the button below for more information on the evening's schedule and how to attend!

For information about sponsoring our 2020 Virtual Benefit or silent auction, which will open Monday, October 12, via this link, please contact Brett Evan Solomon or call 410.790.2140.

Detail from Butterfly Bush, Photograph, Portia Munson (96, 98, 19), 2016


ARRAY is a multi-platform media company and arts collective based in Los Angeles. Founded in 2012 by filmmaker Ava DuVernay, the company currently operates a trio of branded entertainment entities: ARRAY Releasing, ARRAY Filmworks and ARRAY Creative Campus in partnership with the non-profit cinema and social justice organization ARRAY Alliance.

Dinner Chairs

Eleanor Briggs
Christine and Todd Fisher
Anne Stark Locher and Kurt Locher
Marcy Carsey and Susan Nimoy
Robert and Stephanie Olmsted
Thomas and Babs Putnam
Andrew and Barbara Senchak
Amy Davidson Sorkin and David Sorkin

Benefit Patrons

Bill and Bunny Beekman
Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman
Charles and Roxana Gaines
Elizabeth and Russell Gaudreau
John Hargraves and Nancy Newcomb
Darrell and Robin Harvey
Charles F. Stone III and Theresa Stone

Business Sponsor

Production Team

Directed by Joe Langworth

Executive Producer: Ruby Locknar

Technical Producer and Silent Auction: ibid mobile

Past National Benefits


The national benefit at Gotham Hall in New York City in 2019 raised more than half a million dollars for our residency program.

2019 National Benefit


The national benefit at MacDowell's NYC space at 521 West 23rd Street in 2018 raised more than $620,000 for critical operating support.

2018 National Benefit