Search MacDowell Artists, Events, News, and more
9,375 results in total within site. Results 10-18.
Studio was given to the Colony by Mrs. Benjamin P. Cheney and Mrs.
Karl Kauffman. Like Barnard Studio, Cheney is a low, broadly massed
bungalow. Sited on a steep westward slope, its porches are supported
on wooden posts and fieldstone with lattices.
it still retains its appealing character, the original design of the
Omicron Studio was funded by members of the musical fraternity in
1927. The building design is somewhat medieval in character, with an
unusual cedar shingle pattern, a steeply pitched slate roof,
intersecting gables, and small windows.
a 2016 deep-energy renovation, Delta Omicron is now the most energy
efficient studio on the property. To enhance an…
a working barn perched atop the namesake hill of Hillcrest Farm, this
building was converted to serve the arts in 1956.
grand set of windows was installed to make the large interior
suitable for visual artists, bringing in abundant natural light from
the north. The addition of a screened porch and accessible entrance
Graphics Studio, converted to its present use in 1972–1974 through
a grant from the Putnam Foundation, originally served the Colony as
both a power house and pump house. Well water was pumped from a large
cistern to Hillcrest, the Foreman’s Cottage, and the lower
buildings closer to Union Street. Inside the building, an engine
icehouse, built of fieldstone in 1914–1915, was a practical part of
Mrs. MacDowell’s plan for a self-sufficient farm. Winter ice cut
from a nearby pond was stored here for summer use at the Colony. Idle
since 1940, it was a handsome but outdated farm building. In 1995,
Mrs. Drue Heinz, a vice chairman of…
Lodge Annex, a wing on the east side of the men’s dormitory (The
Lodge), was completed in 1926. Initially intended as an apartment for
a caretaker, the space was soon repurposed as a live-in studio for
writers. In recognition of a major endowment gift from the Dubose and
Dorothy Heyward Foundation, Lodge Annex was…
in memory of Sarah L. Kirby, who had left a bequest to the Colony,
this studio was the first — and remains the only — brick building
at MacDowell. Built by local mason Augustus Beaulieu, the
load-bearing masonry walls rest on a fieldstone foundation. The
design of the boxlike building is simple and compact…
in 1912, Pine Studio was renamed MacDowell Studio in 1943 in
recognition of support from a group of Edward MacDowell’s music
students. It was built as a composers’ studio and the stuccoed
walls were intended to be soundproof.
many of the Colony’s studios, MacDowell was winterized in the 1950s
when the Colony began welcoming artists…
Helen Coolidge Mansfield Studio was donated by graduates of the
Mansfield War Service Classes for Reconstruction Aides. Helen
Mansfield helped found the New York MacDowell Club.
small, shingled frame structure with stone foundation was originally
fronted on the west side by a neat white picket fence and gate, a
garden, and a stone pathway…