Discipline: Literature

Florence Wilkinson Evans

Discipline: Literature
MacDowell Fellowships: 1922, 1927

Florence Wilkinson Evans (September 6, 1878 - 1950) was an American poet and playwright.

Born in Tarrytown, New York, on September 6, 1878, Florence Wilkinson studied at Chicago University and other American colleges and afterwards at the Sorbonne and the Bibliotheque Nationale of Paris. She is the author of several novels, of which the best known are: 'The Lady of the Flag Flowers', 'The Strength of the Hills', and 'The Silent Door'; and also of one or two volumes of plays, but her best work is found in her poetry of which she has written two volumes: 'The Far Country', 1906, and 'The Ride Home', 1913.

Photo courtesy of New York Public Library



Florence Wilkinson Evans worked in the Sprague-Smith studio.

In January of 1976, the original Sprague-Smith Studio — built in 1915–1916 and funded by music students of Mrs. Charles Sprague-Smith of the Veltin School — was destroyed by fire. Redesigned by William Gnade, Sr., a Peterborough builder, the fieldstone structure was rebuilt the same year from the foundation up, reusing the original fieldstone. A few…

Learn more