Discipline: Literature – fiction

Harriet Comstock

Discipline: Literature – fiction
MacDowell Fellowships: 1916

Harriet Theresa Comstock (1860-1943) was born in Nichols, New York in 1860, and was educated in Plainfield, New Jersey. She started writing short stories for magazines and children’s books in 1895. Notable works include Janet of the Dunes (1908), Joyce of the North Woods (1911), A Son of the Hills (1913), The Place Beyond the Winds (1914) and At the Crossroads (1922). Comstock was an artist-in-residence at MacDowell in 1916.


Irving Fine

Harriet Comstock worked in the Irving Fine studio.

Youngstown Studio was given to MacDowell by friends of Miss Myra McKeown in Youngstown, OH, where she promoted both art and music. It was renamed Irving Fine Studio in 1972 in honor of Irving Fine, a distinguished composer, conductor, and teacher who was a MacDowell Fellow during the 1940s and 1950s. The simple interior of the studio…

Learn more