Discipline: Literature – fiction

Sigrid Nunez

Discipline: Literature – fiction
Region: New York, NY
MacDowell fellowships: 1989, 1990, 1994, 2019

Sigrid Nunez has published seven novels, including A Feather on the Breath of God, The Last of Her Kind, and, most recently, The Friend, which won the 2018 National Book Award for fiction. She is also the author of Sempre Susan: A Memoir of Susan Sontag. Among the journals to which she has contributed are The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Threepenny Review, Harper’s, McSweeney’s, Tin House, and The Believer. At MacDowell, she worked on her eighth novel.


Phi Beta

Sigrid Nunez worked in the Phi Beta studio.

Learn more