Latest News & Press Releases

68 Artists in Varied Disciplines Awarded Fellowships

Press Release - January 4, 2016

Type: Press Releases, Artist News

Dave Malloy, who wrote the electropop opera Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812, worked in Monday Music Studio. (Joanna Eldredge Morrissey photo)

Dave Malloy, who wrote the electropop opera Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812, worked in Monday Music Studio. (Joanna Eldredge Morrissey photo)

PETERBOROUGH, N.H., JANUARY 4, 2016 -- The MacDowell Colony named sixty-eight artists who have been awarded fellowships at the nation’s first artist residency program and leading contemporary arts center for the late winter and early spring 2016 season. These highly competitive fellowships, each with an average value of $10,000, are awarded to creative individuals working in architecture, music composition, film and video, poetry, fiction and non-fiction, and visual, interdisciplinary, and theatre arts.

Fellows are provided a private studio for periods of up to eight weeks, accommodations and three meals a day, uninterrupted time to work, and the unique multidisciplinary exchange artists tell us only a MacDowell residency can provide. Artists demonstrating need are often eligible for travel grants and stipends to cover expenses that accrue at home during a residency. More than 275 MacDowell Colony fellowships are awarded each year.

By awarding these fellowships, The MacDowell Colony continues its long-standing mission to nurture the arts by offering creative individuals of the highest talent an inspiring environment in which they can produce enduring works of the imagination. It is a mission that has inspired essential contributions to American and world culture now for more than a century.

The most recent class of Fellows includes, according to discipline:

  • Architects Joyce Hwang, Olalekan Jeyifous
  • Composers Lea Bertucci, David Dominique, Peter Fahey, Zaid Jabri, Koji Nakano, David Sawer
  • Film/Video artists Margaret Brown, Leah Byrne, Shaka King, Penny Lane, Rodrigo Reyes, Dennis Tupicoff
  • Interdisciplinary artists Starlee Kine, Alison S.M. Kobayashi, Elizabeth LaPrelle, Anna Roberts-Gevalt
  • Theatre artists Glen Berger, Elizabeth Egloff, Paul Lazar, Dave Malloy, Jerome Parker, Annie-B Parson, Peggy Stafford
  • Visual artists Jarrod Beck, Will Brown, Franklin Evans, Maximilian Goldfarb, Rashawn Griffin, Patrick Jacobs, Mariah Robertson, Grace Troxell, Siebren Versteeg
  • Nonfiction writers Lara Bazelon, Porter Fox, Genese Grill, Michael Gross, Walter Robinson, Alison Smith, Annam Suresh, Ly Tran, Kevin Winkler
  • Poets Susan Barba, Marianne Boruch, Annie Diamond, Jane Mead, Monica Sok, Brian Teare , Javier Zamora
  • Fiction writers Liana Finck, Henry Giardina, Antonia Hayes, Mary-Beth Hughes, Debra Jo Immergut, Anu Jindal, Jaime Karnes, Serena Lin, Danny Lorberbaum, Neel Mukherjee, Jayne Anne Phillips, Eliot Schrefer, Parini Shroff, Corey Michael Smithson, Caroline Stewart, Kathryn Stockett, LaToya Watkins, James Yu.