Latest News & Press Releases

Autumn MacDowell Fellowships Awarded to 68 Artists in Seven Disciplines

Press Release - September 14, 2017

Type: Press Releases, Artist News, Fellowships

MacDowell's Savidge Library in October, 2016.

MacDowell's Savidge Library in October, 2016.

PETERBOROUGH, N.H., SEPTEMBER 14, 2017 -- The MacDowell Colony has awarded fellowships to 68 artists from 21 states and five countries, working in seven disciplines. The fellowships are for upcoming autumn residencies at one of the nation’s leading contemporary arts programs. The incoming group of MacDowell Fellows includes Ted Hearne, Susan Choi, David Rakowski, Lee Breuer and Maude Mitchell, Michael Korie, and Jenny Han.

These highly competitive fellowships, each with an average value of $10,000, were awarded from among a pool of 507 applications received between February 2017 and April 2017. A panel of distinguished professionals in each discipline selects Fellows based solely on their talent, and Fellows are provided a private studio for a period of up to eight weeks, accommodations, and three meals a day.

“The range of talent represents the best work happening in the country and the world,” says Executive Director Cheryl A. Young. “From composers to poets, and from architects to interdisciplinary artists, MacDowell is delighted to be able to provide the conditions necessary to foster the creative work of artists.”

Fellows are provided uninterrupted time to work, and the unique multidisciplinary exchange artists say only a MacDowell residency can provide. Artists demonstrating need are often eligible for travel grants and stipends to cover expenses that accrue at home during a residency that lasts anywhere from two weeks to two months. The MacDowell Colony awards more than 300 fellowships each year. Applications for winter-spring will be accepted until midnight on September 15. The next application deadline is January 15, 2018 for the summer 2018 residency period.

By awarding these fellowships, The MacDowell Colony continues its long-standing mission to nurture the arts by offering creative individuals of the highest talent an inspiring environment in which they can produce enduring works of the imagination. It is a mission that has inspired essential contributions to American and world culture for more than a century, and to date has earned Fellows 83 Pulitzer prizes as well as many other accolades.

The most recent group of Fellows includes, according to discipline:

  • Architects Frank Melendez, Aleksandr Mergold, and John Zissovici.
  • Composers Michael Djupstrom, Ted Hearne, Elizabeth Kelly, Jan Krzywicki, David Rakowski, and Leah Reid.
  • Film/Video artists Rodrigo Gratacós Brum, Mohammad Hassan, Katy Scoggin, and Sasha Waters Freyer.
  • Interdisciplinary artists Dayna Hanson and Ronaldo V. Wilson.
  • Theatre artists Lee Breuer, Christine Evans, Michael Korie, Ethan Lipton, Bonnie Metzgar, Maude Mitchell, Antoinette Nwandu, and Chana Porter.
  • Visual artists Bahar Behbahani, Jonathan Berger, Nancy Bowen, Dahlia Elsayed, Laurel Farrin, Jesse Harrod, Vishal Jugdeo, Rachel Perry, Alexandria Smith, Katya Tepper, and Amanda Wojick.
  • Fiction writers Susan Choi, Christina Cooke, Jayne Blankenship, Sarah Fuchs, Guinevere Glasfurd-Brown, Isabella Hammad, Jenny Han, Elliott Holt, Frederick Todd Johnson, Emily Kiernan, R.O. Kwon, Kendra Langford Shaw, R. Zamora Linmark, Jessica Lott, Yvonne McBride, China Mieville, Hanna Pylvainen, Benjamin Schaefer. Poets Nicky Beer, Destiny Birdsong, Adam Giannelli, Jennifer Grotz, John Murillo, Shelley Wong, and Khaty Xiong. Nonfiction writers Frances Byrnes, Sierra Crane-Murdoch, Rasha Elass, Dan Kaufman, Emily Maloney, Ian Manuel, Alex Mar, Rachel Monroe, and Sunita Puri.

Images of The MacDowell Colony are available upon request

For further information, contact: Jonathan Gourlay 603-924-3886, ext.114

corrected 10/15/17