Latest News & Press Releases

Summer Fellowships at MacDowell Awarded to 69 Artists in Multiple Disciplines

Press Release - June 12, 2017

Type: Press Releases, Artist News, Fellowships

MacDowell summer fellows include (clockwise from top left): Richard Danielpour, Meehan Crist, James Hannaham, Jennifer Karady, Annie Baker, Elisabeth Subrin, Stephen Karam, and Mabel Wilson.

MacDowell summer fellows include (clockwise from top left): Richard Danielpour, Meehan Crist, James Hannaham, Jennifer Karady, Annie Baker, Elisabeth Subrin, Stephen Karam, and Mabel Wilson.

PETERBOROUGH, N.H., JUNE 12, 2017 -- The MacDowell Colony has awarded fellowships to 69 artists from 16 states and six countries, working in seven disciplines. The fellowships are for upcoming summer residencies at one of the nation’s leading contemporary arts programs. The incoming group of MacDowell Fellows includes Richard Danielpour, Elisabeth Subrin, Annie Baker, Stephen Karam, Harmony Hammond, James Hannaham, and Wil Hylton. They are part of a contingent who will be working in architecture, music composition, film and video, poetry, fiction and non-fiction writing, and visual, interdisciplinary, and theatre arts.

These highly competitive fellowships, each with an average value of $10,000, were awarded from among a pool of 706 applications received between October 2016 and January 2017. A panel of distinguished professionals in each discipline picks Fellows based solely on their talent, and Fellows are provided a private studio for a period of up to eight weeks, accommodations, and three meals a day.

“MacDowell is overjoyed to be able to award these fellowships to such a wide range of artists coming from all corners of the planet,” says Executive Director Cheryl A. Young. “From Portugal to South Korea, and from Brooklyn to Israel, we will be welcoming artists creating in all disciplines. From writers like Kathleen Tolan to visual artists like John O’Connor, this group will join the long list of MacDowell Fellows who have benefitted from having a dedicated space and the time to foster their creativity, and make work that engages audiences for generations.”

Fellows are provided uninterrupted time to work, and the unique multidisciplinary exchange artists tell us only a MacDowell residency can provide. Artists demonstrating need are often eligible for travel grants and stipends to cover expenses that accrue at home during a residency that lasts anywhere from two weeks to two months. More than 300 MacDowell Colony fellowships are awarded each year. The next application deadline is September 15, 2017 for the winter-spring residency period.

By awarding these fellowships, The MacDowell Colony continues its long-standing mission to nurture the arts by offering creative individuals of the highest talent an inspiring environment in which they can produce enduring works of the imagination. It is a mission that has inspired essential contributions to American and world culture now for more than a century that have to date earned Fellows 81 Pulitzer prizes as well as many other accolades.

The most recent group of Fellows includes, according to discipline:

  • Architects Ellie Abrons, David Eskenazi, Antonio Furgiuele, Rosalyne Shieh, and Mabel Wilson.
  • Composers Christopher Cerrone, Richard Danielpour, Sam Pluta, Caroline Shaw, Anna Webber, and Elliot Williams.
  • Film/Video artists Rodney Evans, Jacqueline Goss, KyungMook Kim, Alison Maclean, Ian Olds, Elisabeth Subrin, and Pacho Velez.
  • Interdisciplinary artist Karen Sherman.
  • Theatre artists Annie Baker, Liza Birkenmeier, Sarah DeLappe, Ella Hickson, Asa Horvitz, Stephen Karam, and Stacy Osei-Kuffour.
  • Visual artists Ben Durham, Mark Gibson, Andy Graydon, Harmony Hammond, Jennifer Karady, Kalup Linzy, Gina Occhiogrosso, John O'Connor, Duke Riley, and Paul Rucker.
  • Fiction writers Jenessa Abrams, Molly Antopol, Andrea Bewick, Oscar Cuevas, Rhonda Green-Smith, James Hannaham, Thomas Heise, Cara Hoffman, Corinne Manning, Yuly Restrepo, Edna Shemesh, Kathleen Tolan, João Tordo, and Vu Tran.
  • Poets Jennifer Barber, Ahimsa Timoteo Bodhran, francine j. harris, Mikko Harvey, Amaud Jamaul Johnson, Ruth Ellen Kocher, Megan Levad, Laurence O'Dwyer, and Cynthia Zarin.
  • Nonfiction writers Brian Christian, Marie-Therese Connolly, Meehan Crist, Carina del Valle Schorske, Megan Healey, Wil Hylton, Perri Klass, Sarah McColl, Mahmoud Saeed, and Sofia Thanhauser.

Images of The MacDowell Colony are available upon request

For further information, contact: Jonathan Gourlay 603-924-3886, ext.114