Discipline: Literature – nonfiction

Abigail Santamaria

Discipline: Literature – nonfiction
Region: New York, NY
MacDowell Fellowships: 2024

Abigail Santamaria is the author of Joy: Poet, Seeker, and the Woman Who Captivated C.S. Lewis (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015). She is recipient of a National Endowment for the Humanities Public Scholar grant (2022), a Sustainable Arts Foundation award (2021), and a Leon Levy Center for Biography fellowship (2019). Her essays have appeared in The New York Times, Vanity Fair, and Literary Hub, among other publications. Santamaria holds an M.F.A. in nonfiction writing from Columbia University.

At MacDowell, Santamaria worked on a literary biography of Madeleine L'Engle, the Newbery Medal-winning author of A Wrinkle in Time. It is set to be published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux.



Abigail Santamaria worked in the Mansfield studio.

The Helen Coolidge Mansfield Studio was donated by graduates of the Mansfield War Service Classes for Reconstruction Aides. Helen Mansfield helped found the New York MacDowell Club. The small, shingled frame structure with stone foundation was originally fronted on the west side by a neat white picket fence and gate, a garden, and a stone pathway…

Learn more