Discipline: Literature – fiction

Caoilinn Hughes

Discipline: Literature – fiction
Region: Galway, IRELAND
MacDowell Fellowships: 2023

Caoilinn Hughes is an Irish writer, whose novels include Orchid & The Wasp and The Wild Laughter, which won the Royal Society of Literature's Encore Award 2021. Her third novel will be published by Riverhead in early 2024.

Her short stories have been awarded an O.Henry Prize, the Moth International Short Story Prize, and the Irish Book Awards' Story of the Year 2020. She will be a Cullman Center Fellow at New York Public Library for 2023-2024.

At MacDowell, Hughes completed copyedits to her forthcoming novel, The Alternatives (to be published by Riverhead in April 2024), and drafted an original stage play: a commission for Druid Theatre Company.



Caoilinn Hughes worked in the Schelling studio.

Marian MacDowell funded construction of this studio the year that the organization was established and the first artists arrived for residency. It was called Bark Studio until 1933, when it was renamed in honor of Ernest Schelling, a composer, pianist, and orchestral leader who served as president of what was then called the Edward MacDowell…

Learn more